One Last Run: The Andrew Reyes Story

02/11/2010 01:02

His Olympic Journey began in Africa.  Born in Liberia, Andrew Reyes, the youngest of eighteen children was adopted at one week old and raised in the United States.  Growing up in Los Angeles California, his track career took flight.  Eventually landing him on the Olympic stage for his native country, back in 2000.

 

The 2012 Olympian Andrew Reyes said, "In 96 I tried to compete for the United States in the Olympics and I missed the mark by a tenth of a second.  So 96 didn't stop me.  Hey I'm still going to go to the Olympics no matter what."

 

He failed to medal in the Sydney games.  Maybe a change of scenery will help.  The Liberian Country record holder in the 200 meter sprint and 4 X 100 relay plans to train in the Tri Cities and where his adopted mother current lives to train.

 

The 35 year old said, "It's benefiting me because I work harder and I'm at altitude and when I go to compete like say Los Angeles or Arizona... It gives me the edge."

 

He went onto add about the competition he will face: "Oh yes definitely.  They're young.  They're obviously strong and everything.  But experience goes a long way."

 

There's a good chance you may see him at a track near you.  Running as hard and fast as he can, preparing for his ultimate goal.  To be the first Liberian Olympian to make the podium.

 

Reyes said, "That would bring joy to my heart.  Bring a lot of joy to the country in Liberia.  Usain Bolt... See you baby... This summer you and me!"

 

 

Search site

Contact

Andrew Reyes Othello, WA